5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Elements in Exciting, Solid Writing, June 26, 2014
 
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
In “Seal of the King,” two predestined lovers (David and Aurora) come together for the battle of their lifetimes. David is a farmer and Aurora is a warrior, so at first glance one would not think that they would make a likely couple, however Ralph Smith’s skillful writing puts these two together in such a way that readers will agree that there cannot be any other match for them.

This appears to be Mr. Smith’s debut (judging from no other available titles on Amazon yet….I want to read more! :-)) and it’s world class. David and Aurora were well-crafted and the whole cast of supporting characters were entertaining and equally well thought out. Oftentimes fantasy novels can be a bit rough and stop-and-go, however this story flowed gracefully from start to finish.

This book spans several genres, from fantasy to thriller to romance with a Christian element. There’s something for everyone in “Seal of the King.” From the first page, the reader will be pulled into Mr. Smith’s detailed and imaginative world. This novel would definitely make a great movie and I hope a sequel will be out sooner rather than later!! Well done, Ralph Smith!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely surprised, June 26, 2014
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
I was surprised when I first began reading Seal of the King, because I was instantly hooked. The first chapter is nothing but action, and excitement, and all I wanted to do was continue reading. (I have to be honest, I don’t normally read religiously influenced books, and I was surprised that I had liked this one so much.)

Imaging loving someone your whole life, and never having met them, only catching glimpses of them from afar from time to time over the span of ten years? I’m almost positive that there are numerous people who can relate to this part of the story. “It’s love at first sight.” Some people call it fate, some call it destiny. In this story, it’s a bit of all of that. David and Aurora knew they were meant for one another. They had seen each other from afar, and fell in love, without even knowing who the other was. And after they meet, we get to witness their love for one another grow. We get to see that they truly were destined to be together. From the very beginning.

Both David and Aurora are very strong willed people. They are both independent when on their own, but when they are together, they rely on one another to attain a completely new – and otherwise unreachable – level of courage and strength. They are also incredibly ready to do whatever they must to protect the ones they love.

The plot is like most – an evildoer who must be vanquished. I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with that. In fact, there would be no story without it. The great thing about this book, however, is that more than one world is at stake – David’s, set in the present, where he lives the simple life of a farmer, and Aurora’s where she is a fierce warrior of a world that is still centuries behind. And the best part, is that only a select few are able to pass between the two, as simply as someone walking over a bridge.

The feelings between Aurora and David do become pretty intense at times, and I would probably not give this to someone under the age of sixteen to read. I do have to say though that because this book has a heavy religious influence, I am glad that Smith did not let them give into temptation.

All in all, this was a fun read. I wish, however, that the end would have been a bit more exciting, like the first chapter was, but I am happy to say that it does leave room for a sequel, which I will probably read as well.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, Adventure, and Suspense!, June 25, 2014
 
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Right from the first page the adventure begins! It’s classic good versus evil, in a setting that blends a bit of sci-fi and fantasy. There are also definite Christian overtones woven throughout the book, and they were skillfully included in a way that doesn’t alienate non-Christian readers.

Even though you get thrust into the action immediately, the author does a great job with character development, and especially how the relationship between David & Aurora (the book’s two protagonists) progressed throughout the story. Overall a great read. I’m looking forward to more novels by Ralph Smith. Highly recommended!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book full of adventure!, June 25, 2014
 
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the first Christian fantasies that I have truly enjoyed. I just love how the author tied it into the bible without making it incredibly outlandish. David the main character came off as charming and was quite realistic and I love how Aurora was introduced. When David found out the journey that was ahead of them he second guessed himself just like everyone else would. There was a lot of action and it held my attention till the end. I cannot wait to read the next installment in this series!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Tale!, June 25, 2014
 
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
This tale was such a wonderful and classically written tale. It got me daydreaming about what I was reading at work.

I loved how it was written; everything was very well done and I enjoyed the story a lot. I am definitely keeping this author on my list of future reads.

I suggest this book for those that love mystical and creative adventures. I have read a lot of books and I have to say this author is one of my favorites!

So give it a whirl, you’ll be glad that you did!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic story, June 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
I love books that can build worlds like this. I love writing that can develop characters and worlds that really pull you in.

One of the best fiction books I have read in a long time. It’s Christian fantasy with a great romance story. The story of Aurora and David is very captivating. I am looking forward to more from this author and I highly recommend it.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, June 25, 2014
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
I used to read novels at my leisure time.So, I received to read this book by chance. Actually,”Seal of the King” is a great book.Charterers are strong and the story flows evenly. As well as,I enjoy the fact that you have two very different characters, Aurora and David, and against all odds they find each other and fall in love. Aurora is a tough warrior seasoned in battle while David is a farmer living in Kentucky.

According to my personal point of view, this book is good for present young blood as an aid to memory.As I feel,this writer has a good ability for writing because, this book is created a creative adventure .As well as, He has written obvious and perfect story for readers. Actually, I am adore reading this story again and I love this.

Finally,I recommend this for all young readers who love adventure and fantasy.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Mix of Everything!, June 25, 2014
By 
 
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
Unlike the start of many first books in a series, Seal of the King just starts engines revved up and ready to go. The build up comes along with the relationships and character arcs amongst the plot, which is sure a nice change of pace instead of the typical slow start.

I liked the world building as it sets the stage for the second one to be even bigger in scope. Also Aurora and David are also two souls yearning to be one, none of that will they won’t they stuff that seems to be a hit most everywhere now a days.

Aurora knows the world so you get a feeling of calm from her in a sense, while David brings the readers along for the journey as he gets thrown in the deep end and has to sink or swim. A great mix of a few genres that is sure to have anyone reading from beginning to end, as I just kept flipping the pages.

Also just to note, while it does make it obvious there is a sequel, the ending doesn’t leave you hanging, which was also great.

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!