5.0 out of 5 stars A Thrilling Tale of Light vs. Darkness, July 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
Recently, I picked up a copy of ‘Seal of the King’ by Ralph Smith. While I am not usually a fan of this particular genre of fantasy, I have to take some time to write a review about this story because it really touched my heart.

First of all, the characters are breathtakingly crafted. David and Aurora are both very round characters. They move, they grow, and they come alive on the pages of Smith’s work. Their interactions and backstory are equally excellent, and their romance is palpable. They are not your average fantasy story protagonists – Aurora, a powerful warrior, and David, a headstrong farmer, have been having visions of each other for many years. When they finally meet, their fates intertwine for a powerful and dangerous meeting with darkness itself, and with their personal relationships with God.

I feel that it is important to mention Smith’s writing style. Not only is he extremely descriptive and well-versed in the ways of character development, but he manages to stretch the plot out, leaving just enough breaks in the action to give the reader some time to breathe. The rest of the time, however, the action and romance is absolutely enthralling.

I would suggest this book to anyone who like Christian Fiction, Fantasy, and Romance. You will not be disappointed! I cannot wait for the next installment in the series.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An adventure you don’t want to miss!!, July 22, 2014
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
SEAL OF THE KING brings together adventure and Biblical themes, combined with a romance that crosses the timeline! Ralph Smith keeps you turning the pages to see how the adventure between David and Aurora plays out. With the tenacious, honorable, and faithful, David leading the way, the equally strong, Aurora, stands beside him to battle the Dark One. With compelling action, biblical principles, and a dash of romance, he had a winning recipe for a spectacular summer read! Don’t miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly, fantastic read!, July 22, 2014
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded the sample first and was soon buying the full book, riveting, page turning, quick paced action!

“Seal of the King” is an action-packed fantasy novel with a battle of romance and faith intertwined. The protagonist David sees visions of a beautiful, strong warrior woman who he has been seeing in flashes since she was a girl. Though no one believes David, to him the girl is very real.

What David doesn’t realise as the novel begins is that the girl has been having these same flashes of David. One fateful night their worlds suddenly merge and cross, and David rescues Aurora from a group of soldiers determined to kill her. The pace picks up from there, and the action unfolds as David learns more about Aurora’s war-torn world and discovers that his own world isn’t as mundane as he thought —and soon they are on a mission to save both from the darkness.

I really enjoyed reading this book, it was the strong reviews that brought me here, and the promise of romance that compelled me to read. I actually enjoyed the action too. I was not left disappointed.

Highly recommended!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, July 21, 2014
 
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
This was a wonderful book! It has a very well developed plot with a lot of exciting twists, turns and even a bit of fantasy. It has something for everyone, suspense, excitement, fantasy, good versus evil and a love story.

The character development is particularly well done, they are brought to life on the pages, and you can easily believe they are in the room with you. They aren’t perfect, and I think that adds validity to the story, because in real life, who is perfect?

The writing is excellent, the characters fantastic, and the plot wonderful, what more could you want? Oh yes, the author did a wonderful job of writing a great story without resorting to excessive violence or graphic scenes. Anyone can read this book!

I highly recommend!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Biblical inspired Fiction (Light vs. Dark) then this is a MUST read!, July 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
Ralph Smith takes Biblical knowledge and entwines it with a flair for storytelling, producing a well written, fast paced Fantasy Novel in “The Seal of The King.”

Aurora and David have known each other all their lives, though they have never really met. Seen in foggy glimpses and moments that others would call “imaginary” or even crazy, they have seen the other grow; pain, love, loss, sorrow – it’s all been shared in a silent harmony of surreal, even fantastical dream like flashes.

One evening, while tending his farm, David sees something in the distance. Following his instincts he investigates and manages to save his imaginary friend and lifelong companion from a fireball aimed straight at her head. Suddenly thrown together, against all reason and across time, this bond that has blessed them both catapults them both into a prophetic fate and dash to save everything, and everyone, they know.

Each discovers more about themselves, their powers, their abilities and their purpose together in this crash course adventure that pits light against dark, The Lord against The Dark One and a pair of fated leaders against forces neither is prepared for.

“The Seal of the King” is a worthy addition to any library, especially recommended for fans of Fantasy, Sci-Fi and Biblical Fiction.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story!! True Love!!, July 20, 2014
 
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
“Seal of the King” by Ralph Smith is a very good book for the genre of Christian/Fantasy. The two main character Aurora and David knew much about each other long before they met. David, a farmer had visions of Aurora all his life. He was certain she was real but had nothing to prove that. In another time was Aurora, a warrior, who had visions and dreams of her own, all of David. She was in love with him before she even met him.
I liked that they had their feelings, love without any strife. In a lot of romances, the couple spends a lot of time fighting their attraction, or denying it. Even though they come from very different backgrounds these two know they love each other, and they know they need each other to save the world. One of my favorite parts of the book was the way the author handled the honeymoon. It was done tastefully but also showed the love and passion these two felt for each other.
Which brings me to the point of the story. Davis and Aurora are fighting darkness on the side of Lightness. Of course and we have to always believe that good will prevail. This is the very core of humans, and this book is no different. in the battle of Good vs. Evil, Good will always be the victor.
This book is a great romance. The book is a great faith based read, and I would recommend it to anyone that enjoys the fantasy/Christian/romance genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heroic tale of good and evil with a twist!, July 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
Seal of the King by Ralph Smith is a well written and engrossing fantasy novel with a familiar theme of Good versus Evil. However, the characters are unusual and likeable. Aurora is a great warrior, while David is a farmer. Both have had visions of the other since their early years, allowing them to know each other’s experiences, emotions, desires, yearnings, and personalities. They are not aware that this experience goes both ways until as adults they happen to meet when David saves Aurora from enemies trying to kill her. They quickly get entangled in a fight against the darkness and must journey to the very lair of the beast lord in service to the light. The book is the first of a series, and was spellbinding from the beginning with its premise of more than soul mates meeting and joining to battle evil. The many other characters in the book are also diverse and interesting. I’m looking forward to reading the sequel and the rest of the series. The author is also on my must read list! I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes the fantasy genre. It is well written, fast paced, absorbing, and enjoyable. I had a hard time putting it down and you will too. Try it! You won’t be sorry!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love and Fantasy., July 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
Ralph Smith Is very generous to the reader on this one, Seal of the King is a jammed packed fantasy novel with over five hundred pages of well written romance and action, it’s certainly worth the price. Dave and Aurora can achieve much through faith and every once in a while they will even make the preacher blush. Approvingly of course, Smith’s story telling abilities shine through here and many fantasy readers will enjoy this book. Two different war torn worlds one main road, love faith action and fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Power Couple, July 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
It is nice to see a different take on an epic fantasy. There is plenty of story to dig into, and just get immersed while reading. I don’t always like super long novels, but this was perfect at over 500 pages.

Seeing a Christian based story that can really stand up these days is hard to find. The story has an overall religious tone, and makes everything mesh together so well. But not in an overbearing or preachy way I have seen in the past.

Author Ralph Smith has built an excellent world and weaved in truly dynamic characters. He knows how to turn his words into beautiful picture in my head. I was drawn to keep reading from that very first paragraph, and only put it down when I had to. It was nice to see their beliefs were a strong point, and they made choices based on that faith.

This is a fantasy, but the love story between Aurora and David is incredible. They find each other and become one; love that will conquer, a true power couple. It’s not cheesy or unbelievable and really shows what having your true love by your side can allow you to accomplish.

I don’t think the love scenes are graphic in the least, and would have no problem letting my young teen read it. I know everyone’s opinion on that differs, so know there is some light sexual content. I’m sure most parents(as I do) read any new book before giving it to their children.

Overall I can wholeheartedly recommend this to anyone…really anyone. It has elements of so many genres and does them so well it has something for everybody. Sci-fi, fantasy, romance and it’s not forced.

5.0 out of 5 stars Faith and Fantasy, July 18, 2014

Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
I thought this was a pretty cool story and it put a good twist on modern fantasy fiction. There are a lot of faith based elements to the story which I thought made for a better tale then the usual artificially manufactured plot backgrounds you get in a lot of books in this genre. Aurora is a really interesting character because she’s a strong female heroine and it plays well against David’s “every guy” farmer background. The plot itself had good elements of suspense and the story moved at a good pace. If you’re into this kind of genre, then this is a book worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I highly recommend this book, July 18, 2014
 
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
I love this book and could not put it down the second I started reading it. I really enjoyed reading it. It is well written and easy to follow. My favorite part is reading about the love that David has for Aurora. It is a heartwarming, old-fashioned, romance, action, and mystery story rolled all into one. I highly recommend this book to everyone.

This book tells the story of a brave young farmer named David, who throughout his life saw a girl that no one else could see. Then one day he saves the life of the girl Aurora. She is a fearless young woman who has an imaginary friend. It does not take them long to realize that they have been seeing each other their whole lives from different worlds. They soon become aware they are part of a prophecy that will take them on an adventure that could lead to them to their demise. With the powers bestowed upon these two young lovers they set out to defeat the dark one in hopes of fulfilling their prophecy.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this!, July 17, 2014
 
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book! It dives right into the action, with exciting plot twists and some fantasy elements,which I don’t always like but really enjoyed here. I also really, really appreciated the love story between David and Aurora. You can tell the author loves his characters–they are developed completely and tenderly so that they feel so real to the reader that you would swear they are living, breathing people. Though this story is fiction with lots of fantasy and supernatural elements, it’s completely relateable because the characters are so well-developed. They are human beings, with imperfections and vulnerabilities. They make mistakes and although they complement each other, they don’t necessarily complete each other.

I also enjoyed the suspense in the plot. The author managed to write an exciting story without having to resort to excessive violence or anything graphic. And finally, I like that this story is faith-based. A lot of Christian fiction is not very well-written and this book is. Well done!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, captivating read., July 16, 2014
By 
 
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and really like how the story starts in a way that just jumps right in. Kept my attention from beginning to end and the author made it easy to differentiate each character. Definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I like the overall concept of the story, July 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
I like the overall concept of the story. However, I find the events and narrative to bog down in places. I would have enjoyed it more if it moved along at a faster pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rivetting Story, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
This author did a great job blending together action, fantasy, and suspense all the while illustrating good Christian principles. The two main characters, Aurora and David, had a chemistry that was entertaining to read.

The plot moves at a quick pace and really pulls the reader deep into the story. It starts out strong and never lets your imagination go as you get to watch Aurora and David come together to battle the Dark one.

A good read that kept me engaged and entertained, not much more that I can ask from a book 🙂

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Seal of the King (Kindle Edition)
This was a fun book to read. The storyline is full of intriguing fantasy and adventure that reads like science fiction. I enjoyed it and its characters tremendously, especially Aurora and David. Wonderful book which conveys Christian principles. Very pleased with this one. Highly recommended.
Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!